A Trip to Ikea & Hanging Plants

A couple of weeks ago I took a trip to Ikea, the plan was to leave with just three pairs of curtains to make napkins for our wedding in September. I even went alone to minimise the potential for additional purchases. However you know what they say about the best laid plans…

Even before I got into the store I spotted some garden chairs! They were just outside the entrance door along with a selection of other garden furniture; all on special offer. I have been eyeing up the Hee dining chair from Hay for a while, but couldn’t justify spending that amount of money on outdoor chairs when we have so many other bits to finish. So at only £20 each, it was hard to resist the Ikea, Ängsö garden chairs. Granted they are very different from the Hay Hee chair, but they are very comfy and will look great around the gardne table Ed made me drive half way across London to collect.

thumb-2-heedining_2013-2-25_11-42-15

Hee Dining chair by Hay (Image courtesy of Hay)

angso-chair

Ikea Ängsö garden chair (Image courtesy of Ikea)

I made it to the textiles department to pick up the curtains with just the 4 garden chairs and some wrapping paper (you can never have enough) so though I was doing pretty well. After picking up the curtains I headed for the checkout and tried not to look at anthing, but then out of the corner of my eye I spotted tsome hanging planters. Although I am terrible at keeping plants alive, I have been eyeing up lots of gorgeous botanical inspiration recently so onto the trolley they went and home with me they came.

viktigt-hanging-planter-set-of-2-black__0418589_pe575651_s4-1

Viktigt hanging planter (Image courtesy of Ikea)

The planters are from the Viktigt range which is a limited collection range created in collaboration with a Swedish glass and ceramic designer – Ingegerd Råman. The collection comprises of handmade glassware and furniture and accessories woven from natural fibres – just like these planters.

They did sit on the kitchen floor for a couple of weeks before we got to our local garden centre – The Dulwich Pot and Plant Garden where we picked up a sedum burrito hanging succulent for the tall planter and a lush fern for the larger planter. Ed then hung them over one of the lounge chairs in the kitchen, where they should get plenty of sunlight. I love the way they compliment the climber on the exterior wall behind them, what do you think?

img_8822

Our new hanging planters all planted and hanging in the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

