Hannah Berry Wreath Making Workshop

Following on from the introduction to floristry workshop which I did at Jam Jar Flowers back in October (blog post coming soon), I booked myself a wreath making workshop. Unfortunately I couldn’t make any of the dates at Jam Jar Flowers, so I looked around and came across a great looking workshop at Hannah Berry Flowers just outside Farnham in Surrey. Location wise it is quite far from us, but I loved the style of the wreaths on her website, which included lots of different varieties, so it seemed like it would be worth the drive… and it most definitely was!

Part of the gorgeous set up at Hannah's workshop

Part of the gorgeous set up at Hannah’s workshop

This morning I was up nice and early and arrived at Hannah’s workshop in good time for a cup of tea before we kicked off at 10.30am. Hannah began the workshop with a demonstration which was full of lots of tips and helpful hints and then we were let loose! We were each given our own oasis ring, instruction sheet, apron and a big bucket of flowers, which included fir tree branches, wax flower, white ranunculus, eucalyptus, pink chrysanthemums, sea holly, spray roses, a gorgeous head of deep red orchid flowers and acacia. In addition to this there was a help your self bar of additional flowers, berries, seed heads and all sorts of other Christmas goodies.

Bucket of flowers at Hannah Berry's Christmas wreath making workshop

My bucket after I had got going

The class took place with us all around a big timber work bench and as there were only 5 of us in the class, Hannah was able to give us lots of individual attention. I’m not going to give a step by step guide on how to make a wreath as I think the experience of doing it with an expert on hand to assist and guide is invaluable. But, I most defiantly left feeling confident enough to attempt making one on my own next year. I may even attempt to make a couple!

Trimming foliage at Hannah Berry flowers Christmas wreath making workshop

Trimming foliage to start the wreath

Basis of my wreath at Hannah Berry flowers Christmas wreath making workshop

Starting to take shape

In my own wreath I went a bit wild with the acacia as I loved how the colour variegated from soft green through to purpley red. In addition to the ingredients from the bucket I added sprigs of dried hydrangea, pine cones, seed heads and a spray of pheasant feathers and a hessian bow to finish it off.

Christmas wreath with eucalyptus, orchid flowers, fir branches, sea holly, roses, pine cones and pheasant feathers

My finished wreath, photographed in the workshop

Do you know what, I absolutely love it! What do you think?

Of all the courses I looked at, this wasn’t the cheapest but it was most definitely worth it – there was a great atmosphere, gorgeous snacks and there were so many flowers included, that I actually think it was great value. Another lovely touch was that Hannah was more than happy for us to take home any flowers from our bucket that we didn’t use and I made up a hand tied bouquet when I got home, that looks lovely on the kitchen table. So, for anyone looking for something festive to do put wreath making in the diary for next year.

Leave a Reply

