Mother’s Day Bouquets

For anyone that follows me on Instagram you will know I have gone a bit flower crazy recently – I decided to take the Friday before Mother’s Day off work, so I could practice the skills I learnt at Jam Jar, which I posted about (here) and make my own bouquets to gift.

Before heading of to New Covent Garden Flower Market to purchase some blooms, I trawled Pinterest for colour inspiration and did lots of research into the sorts of flowers that would be available. From this I made a rough list of the quantities and types of flowers and foliage I would need. I based my quantities on the following for each bunch:

1 type of ‘hero’ flower – this was to be the focal flower and my shortlist included avalanche or David Austin roses, dahlias and Delphiniums. I worked out I would need approx. 3 stems of the chosen hero flower per bunch.

2-3 type of ‘secondary’ flowers – these needed to work with the hero flower, but could contrast with it as well as match it. My shortlist included ranunculus, anemones, clematis, tulips and snap dragons. I calculated I would need around 12 stems of these per bunch.

1-2 types of small floral or coloured foilage – My favourites include astrantia, astilbe, sea holly and waxflower so were all on the list.

Foliage – This is to fill the bouquet out and can be anything green, such as eucalyptus, pavi or ruscus.

Regarding the small flowers and foliage I estimated I would need about 20 stems of both combined, but hadn’t quite worked out exact numbers as it would depend on they type purchased.

However once I got to the market this all went out the window and I went a bit crazy buying and came away with masses too much! But I did keep to the trusty formula of a few hero flowers, some secondary flowers, some smaller flowers and foliage, so it wasn’t a complete waste of time! My purchases included lots from my shortlist, plus some deep mauve lilies and golden rod.

Our kitchen looking like a florist's shop!

Our kitchen looking like a florist’s shop!

As soon as I arrived home I popped all the flowers into water (so that the kitchen looked like a florist’s shop) and then set about prepping them, by stripping all the leaves off the lower stems, trimming any stray stems and damaged leaves. This meant that once I started putting the bouquets together I would only have to do minimal prep – any more can be a bit difficult as one hand is taken up holding the bouquet.

Hand tied bouquet with anemones, dahlias, orange butterfly ranunculus, yellow ranunculus, golden rod, eucalyptus and pavi

Hand tied bouquet with anemones, dahlias, orange butterfly ranunculus, yellow ranunculus, golden rod, eucalyptus and pavi

When it came to making up the bouquets the tips I learnt at Jam Jar were invaluable and I tried to continually rotate the bouquets so that they looked good from all angles. As I said before if you are looking to make your own bouquets I would throughly recommend doing a class, however if your budget doesn’t allow for one I found a really helpful post over on B.Loved which can be found here.

Hand tied bouquet with roses, anemones, pavi, sea holly, stocks and astilbe

Hand tied bouquet with roses, anemones, pavi, sea holly, stocks and astilbe

During my research I also came across a great website called Team Flower, which has some great video tutorials for anyone interested in flower arranging and lots of great photos and tips.

Hand tied bouquet with eucalyptus, pavi, stocks, golden rod, sea holly, yellow ranunculus and anemones

Hand tied bouquet with eucalyptus, pavi, stocks, golden rod, sea holly, yellow ranunculus and anemones

My flower buying splurge meant I ended up making 10 bouquets, so I got to keep a couple to dot around the house and we also gifted a couple of extra ones which was lovely.

Hand tied bouquet with eucalyptus, pavi, stocks, golden rod, sea holly, yellow ranunculus and anemones

A slightly different take on the same flowers as above!

I really enjoyed making the bouquets up and am considering doing another course to build on my skills so would love to know what you think. Which one is your favourite?

My favourite hand tied bouquets lined up on the kitchen table

My favourites lined up on the kitchen table

Leave a Reply

